Saturday, August 24, 2013

Joe Hanson has a new profile photo on his blog:  It’s Okay to be Smart.

Image

Isn’t that great?  BE CURIOUS.  Leads you into the best kind of trouble, in my opinion.

On his blog in the last few weeks…(click the photo to see more)

Image

He also suggests that we go to this website and listen to pi played as musical tones.  I have to admit to listening for over 10 minutes.  

I haven’t posted in a little while so today’s post is a roundup of some of my favorite people and sites.  Next up…Brain Pickings:

Image

 

 

This was REALLY fun for me to read.  Click if you want to read too:

Image

Another excellent post from Maria Popova raises the question of how journalists should report on science and uncertainty.  Relevant in my life is the changing role the media plays in getting information to people, and as Sam Vimes says (satire and/or Terry Pratchett fans high five!) “Who Watches the Watchers?”  How to we know what is true?  A discussion that we will no doubt have at school and in many contexts.  Here is the link to this thought-provoking start.

Then of course, there is the ever popular category of “Links and photos people send me on twitter because they know I like math” [still listening to pi-tones, by the way…]  Included among these gems are:

Why are soccer balls made of hexagons? (Mental Floss)  Why do you think?

5 math formulas small business owners should know (Huffington Post)  Can you guess?

The thing about this last link is that ALL FIVE formulas are just ratios.  Better–oh, so much better–to understand deeply the power of ratio, to come to love the art of comparing, than to memorize formulas.  Just saying.

And, finally, 

Image

 

 

An author I like.  But I REALLY like this description of her workshop.  Yes.  Learning is sometimes so so wonderful when it is perfectly, deliciously, hard.

Michele

Leave a comment